Co Production Treaties

The Irish Government has official bi-lateral co-production agreements with Australia, Canada, Luxembourg, New Zealand and South Africa covering feature film, television production and other forms of digital production. If a project is certified as an official co-production, it confers national status of all the co-production territories to that project and is effectively regarded as a national production in each of the co-produing territories.  The production is then eligible to benefit from local territory benefits in the co-producing country such as broadcast licence fees, access to tax incentives, regional subsidies and the local distribution market.

These co-production agreements were established to:

  • facilitate cultural and creative exchange between the co-production countries
  • allow the co-production countries to share the risk and cost of production
  • to increase the output of high quality productions

To qualify as an official co-production under these agreements, there must be a co-producer in each country and there must be a balance between the Irish financial and creative contribution.

Application forms for Co-Production status are available through Bord Scannan na hEireann/Irish Film Board.  

Ireland is also party to the European Convention on Cinematographic Co-production which enables co-production of feature films amongst members of the EU and some EEA states.  For further information see European Co-Production

AUSTRALIA  |  Films Co-production Agreement between the Government of Australia and the Government of Ireland

CANADA  |   Agreement on film and Video Relations between the Government of Canada and the Government of Ireland

IRISH LUXEMBOURG TREATY Agreement between the government of Ireland and the government of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg on Audio-visual relations

NEW ZEALAND  Agreement between the Government of Ireland and the Government of New Zealand concerning the co-production of films

SOUTH AFRICA  Agreement between the Government of Ireland and the Government of the Republic of South Africa

European Co-Production