RTÉ & BAI Board members approved

Industry News

Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, Alex White TD, obtained Government approval on Tuesday 10th February for the appointment of new members to the RTÉ Board and the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI), following their nomination by the Joint Oireachtas Committee (JOC) on Transport and Communications. The JOC nominated the following people:


    Mr Padraig O’Ceidigh
    Mr Shane Naughton
    Ms Fionnuala Sheehan
    Ms Margaret Ward

Broadcasting Authority of Ireland

    Professor Maeve McDonagh
    Dr Rosemary Day
    Mr Denis Wolinski

The JOC nominated three people to the Authority, with a fourth name to be provided in due course. Under Section 81 of the Broadcasting Act, 2009, the Government appoints seven members (including a chairperson) to the RTÉ Board on the nomination of the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources. Under Section 8 of the Broadcasting Act, 2009, the Government appoints five members to the BAI Board and on the nomination of the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources. The Government made these appointments on 4th November 2014 (RTÉ Board) and 2nd December 2014 (BAI Board).
Today’s additional appointments are made on the nomination of the JOC, also under Sections 8 and 81 of the Broadcasting act 2009.

BIOGRAPHIES OF APPOINTEES (provided to the Minister by the Joint Oireachtas Committee)

BAI Board

Professor Maeve McDonagh
Academic Lawyer specialising in information law including freedom of information, data protection and information technology law, also in human rights law.
Dr. Rosemary Day
Head of Department of Media and Communications Studies in Mary Immaculate College at UL. Teacher and researcher on mass media, regularly publishes on media matters. Advocate on community broadcasting, involved in founding two community radio stations and CRAOL.
Mr. Denis Wolinski
Former National Manager Northern Ireland, Digital UK, Former Director of Ofcom Northern Ireland, former Head of the NI Independent Television Commission.

Member First Appointed Term-End Date
Dr Pauric Travers (Chair)  02/12/2014 01/12/2017
Mr Alan McDonnell 02/12/2014 01/12/2019
Ms Claire Duignan 02/12/2014  01/12/2019
Ms Grace Smith  02/12/2014   01/12/2019
Ms Michelle McShortall  01/10/2009 01/12/2017
Professor Maeve McDonagh 17/02/2015 16/02/2020
Dr Rosemary Day 17/02/2015 16/02/2020
Mr Denis Wolinski  17/02/2015 16/02/2020

RTÉ Board

Mr Padraig O’Ceidigh
Founder of Aer Arann and Aer Lingus Regional. He is Adjunct professor of Entrepreneurship and Business in NUI Galway, Chair of the Business School Advisory Board and Chairman of Failte Ireland West – West of Ireland Tourist Board. A former recipient of the Ernst and Young Irish Entrepreneur of the Year Award, Padraig is its current Chair. He is also a former Board member of CROI, Board Iascaigh Mhara and Chair of the National GAA Research Board.
Mr Shane Naughton
Global Chief Financial Officer of the Economist Group. Formerly Global CFO with EMI Music and United Business Media.
Ms Fionnuala Sheehan
Former CEO of MEAS/ and former Deputy Registrar at the University of Limerick. Group Treasurer of GPA limited and its Joint Venture Companies.
Ms Margaret Ward
Founder and CEO of Clear Ink, a brand communications agency. Founder of Broadly Speaking, which focuses on public speaking and corporate training in presentation. Founder and Chair of Women on Air, financial journalist.

Member   First Appointed   Term-End Date
Moya Doherty (Chair) 4/11/2014  3/11/2017
Fergus Armstrong  1/09/2009 3/11/2017
Frank Hannigan 4/11/2014 3/11/2019
Deborah Kelleher 4/11/2014 3/11/2017
P.J. Mathews 4/11/2014 3/11/2019
Anne O’Leary 4/11/2014 3/11/2019
Aengus Mac Grianna 4/11/2014 3/11/2019
Mr Noel Curran 01/02/2011 31/01/2018
Padraig O’Ceidigh 17/02/2015 16/02/2020
Shane Naughton   17/02/2015 16/02/2020
Fionnuala Sheehan 17/02/2015 16/02/2020
Margaret Ward    17/02/2015 16/02/2020


The above content is is a press release from the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources.